Desires

At some point in our lives we end up caught in the middle of two directions. Either we pursue a desire or leave it behind. But what does it really take to pursue or leave that desire? Where does it come from in the first place?

 

 I remember one “desire” in my heart that was caught by a question from whom I believe God sent to reveal to me this sweet thing. From then on, that desire was challenged. “Is it what God really wants us to do?”

 

 Then my friend and I started to take on a journey of truly seeking God’s will with that “desire” and I believe we both ended up with what God wanted to teach us in the first place.

However, I could only write what God revealed to me personally… so bear with it. Haha

God’s answer started with King David’s desire to build up a temple for God.

1 Chronicles 28: 12

            He gave him the plans of all that the Spirit had put in his mind for the courts of the temple of the Lord…

David’s desire to build a temple for the Lord was given by the spirit of God. It didn’t come from him but Someone had put that desire in his mind. Furthermore his desire was followed by a motive in his heart. And that motive can be found in 1 Chronicles 22:5

             David said, “… the house to be built for the Lord should be of great magnificence and fame and splendor in the sight of all the nations. Therefore I will make preparations for it…”

His motive was for the people who have their “own gods” see who’s the REAL GOD!

During their time, winning a war against a nation had a higher purpose. And that is to show whose god is stronger and greater. If a nation won a war that means their god is above their enemy’s god. (1 Samuel 4-5)

In short, David had in his heart to lift up God to be glorified and be made known to all the nations as the God among all the gods.

I was enlightened to know this. That my “desire” could be from God and therefore I should pursue it!

“But wait. There’s more!” God said to me.

He then led me backtracking a little bit into King David’s life. In 1 Chronicles 21 when David numbered his fighting men.

Verse 1

            Satan rose up against Israel and incited David to take a census of Israel

To incite means to arouse in action. We all know that our actions come first into what our minds tell us to do. (Or at least most of the time… para sa mga impulsive…haha)

Therefore, there was another desire or thought brought into David’s mind. And it was not from God. It was from Satan himself which caused David to choose between three punishments given by God. But why was David given punishment?

God was not pleased with what David did as cited in verse 7. Why? That is because of the hidden motive in David’s heart. Numbering or counting the fighting men and the Israelites implies that David was forgetting that it was because of God that he won battles and acquire his army along with God’s covenant with him as being the anointed king of the Israelites.

It was David’s boasting of his own great power of conquering battles and nations and not God’s!

In short, it was a wrong motive for David. It was to glorify himself!

Good thing, God’s covenant with David and God’s grace is greater than what David did that he was given a chance to choose!

When this was revealed to me, I fell prostrate before God. I was left checking my heart’s motive. Was that “desire” for God’s glory or for myself?

Thank God there’s such a thing as repentance. I repented from any wrong motive of pursuing that “desire” and I praise God for forgiving me.

At this moment, by God’s grace I am left with a changed heart, with purer motives in pursuing my “desire.” J

Now, I know that our desires can come either from God or from the enemy himself. God allows the enemy to do his thing in us to teach us great things. Sana nga lang matutunan natin yun diba?

And how will we know whether that desire is from God or from Satan?Image

It’s where our heart’s motive lies. If it’s to glorify God, it’s from God. If it’s otherwise… alam na…

Maybe, that is why David was so careful charging his son Solomon.

1 Chronicles 28:9

            “And you, my son Solomon, acknowledge the God of your father, and serve him with wholehearted devotion and with a willing mid, for the Lord searches every heart and understands every motive behind the thoughts…”

As well as having this prayer in his heart…

 Psalm 139:23-24

            “Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in m, and lead me in the way everlasting.”

 

It is God who knows our hearts more than ourselves and it is only appropriate for us to always be in the attitude of checking our reasons for our actions.

Leave a Reply

